It would seem that I’m a hot commodity for the insurance/assurance market!

A few weeks after actively putting myself out there in the job market and I’m being inundated with approaches from the likes of Farmers Insurance.  Apparently, the business development success that I’ve enjoyed as part of my staffing experience makes me an ideal candidate for selling insurance!

Now, nothing against Farmers and their like but I somehow don’t see myself as an Insurance Salesman.  I’m sure that it’s a worthy field – just not for me!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks so far, balancing new temporary contract work priorities with the search for a FT job, while still trying to be the husband and father that I strive to be.

My temporary work with LivingSocial (LS), contracting through The Wetstein Group (TWG), is now up and running.  I’m up to speed on LS recruiting goals, vision and urgent staffing needs and I have been superbly trained in the processes TWG use to deliver their outstanding success to LS. 

I’ve also connected TWG with 7 of my former colleagues from within my social network, as the co seeks to meet LivingSocial’s expansion plans in 2011.  It’s been so nice to ‘pay it forward’ and give other experienced recruiters the opportunity to link up with TWG and their client, LS.

I’ve also taken on responsibility for full cycle recruiting of specific LS hiring needs in the US, UK and Australia and was flown into D.C. to sit in on one of LS’s ‘Super Session’ recruitment days and learn the methodology behind how they recruit.

Overall, it’s proving to be the new adventure that I hoped it to be – an enjoyable and professionally satisfying way to pay the bills, until such time as the right FT job comes along. 

Having now presented my 1st few applicants for consideration, we’ll soon see how many bills I can pay!

Leave a Reply

